Minutes of the Licensing Committee

<u>22nd May, 2009 at 10.00 am</u> at the Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

- Present:Councillor Rouf (Chair);
Councillors P Davies, Frear, E A Giles, Grainger,
R Horton, Mrs A Hughes, Silvester and Webb.
- **Apologies:** Councillors Allen and Sandars.

3/09 <u>Minutes</u>

Resolved that the minutes of the meeting held on 17th March, 2009, be confirmed as a correct record.

4/09 Establishment of Licensing Panels

The Committee considered a report indicating that under the provisions of the Licensing Act, 2003, the Licensing Committee may establish one or more Licensing Sub-Committees (referred to in this Council as Panels) to assist in the discharge of the licensing functions under the Licensing Act, 2003. Certain functions of the Gambling Act, 2005 were also discharged by these panels.

The Licensing Act, 2003 specified that each Sub-Committee (Panel) should consist of three members of the Licensing Committee.

Resolved:

- (1) that four Licensing Panels be established, each comprising three members of the Licensing Committee;
- (2) that members be appointed to those Panels, and that a Chair be appointed to each Panel, as indicated below:

Panel 1 Councillor Rouf (Chair); Councillors Frear and Mrs A Hughes.

Licensing Committee – 22nd May, 2009

Panel 2 Councillor Rouf (Chair); Councillors Grainger and R Horton.

Panel 3 Councillor Rouf (Chair); Councillors Silvester and Webb.

Panel 4 Councillor Downing (Chair); Councillors Allen and Sandars.

(3) that the Head of Governance Services, in consultation with the Chair of the Licensing Committee, be authorised to select replacement members from the Licensing Committee as necessary to serve on Licensing Panels to ensure a quorum should a named member not be available for a meeting or unable to consider a particular case due to a conflict of interest.

(The meeting ended at 10.20 am)

Contact Officer: Georgina Wythes Democratic Services Unit 0121 569 3791